harvey whitehouse web

Director of the Centre for Anthropology and Mind

Harvey Whitehouse is an anthropologist whose research focuses on the evolution of social complexity. One of the founders of the cognitive science of religion, Harvey is well known for his theory of “modes of religiosity,” which explains how the frequency and emotional intensity of collective rituals influence the scale and structure of religious organisations. He is Chair of Social Anthropology at the University of Oxford and a Professorial Fellow of Magdalen College.

For more information about Harvey’s work, please visit


Research Coordinators


jonathan jong

Research Coordinator of AnthroLab

Jonathan Jong is an experimental psychologist whose research is mainly on the psychology of religion. In particular, he is interested in what motivates religious belief: what psychological needs—and especially what unconscious needs—might religious beliefs fulfill. He is a Research Fellow at Coventry University, and Deputy Director of the Brain, Belief and Behaviour group there.

For more information about Jonathan’s work, please visit

pieter francois

Research Coordinator of Cultural Evolution Lab

Pieter François is the Dean and Fellow in Anthropology at St. Benet’s Hall, University of Oxford. His work focuses on travel and migration in the nineteenth century and on the evolution of social complexity, ritual and warfare. Together with Professor Peter Turchin (UConn) and Professor Harvey Whitehouse (Oxford) he founded the Seshat: Global History Databank in 2011. In 2013 he won the British Library Labs competition with his Sample Generator for Digitized Texts.

For more information about Pieter's work, please visit PieterFrancois




Dr Michael Buhrmester

Dr Rohan Kapitány

Dr Chris Kavanagh

Dr Yo Nakawake

Dr Martha Newson


Dr Mark Stanford

Dr Aiyana Willard



Tara Tasuji - Green Templeton College

Justin Lane - St Peter's College

Ben Johannes - New College



Adrian Cherney (University of Queensland)

Amy Bogaard (St Peter’s College, Oxford)

Arkadiusz Marciniak (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Brock Bastian (University of New South Wales)

Camilla Mazzucato (Stanford University)

Cristine Legare (University of Texas at Austin)

David Sloan Wilson (Binghamton University and the Evolution Institute)

Eddie Tong (National University of Singapore)

Elaine Reese (University of Otago)

Eleni Hatzaki (University of Cincinnati)

Fiona White (University of Sydney)

Gul Deniz Salali (University College London)

Ian Hodder (Stanford University)

Jamin Halberstadt (University of Otago)

John Alderdice (Harris Manchester College, Oxford)

Jonathan Lanman (Queen’s University Belfast)

Jorge Dorfman Knijnik (Western Sydney University)

Karen Gonsalkorale (University of Sydney)

Kevin Feeney (Trinity College Dublin)

Kostis Christakis  (University of Crete)

Marta Bartkowiak (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Masaki Yuki (Hokkaido University)

Michael Cowan (Loyola University New Orleans)

Michael Hochberg (Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier)

Patrycja Filipowicz (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Paul Reddish (National University of Singapore)

Rachel Watson-Jones (University of Texas in Austin)

Robert Brennan (Trinity College Dublin)

Robin Fitzgerald (University of Queensland)

Silvio Ricardo da Silva (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais)

Tiago Soares Bortolini (Universidade Federal Rio de Janeiro)

List of site pages